Land of the water

Norway Tour 2019

divider-ornamental-banner

9 day trekking tour

divider-ornamental

in Hardangervidda, the largest plateau in Europe

Norway tour

divider-ornamental

Next step to expedition

At this 9 day tour we will hike through Hardangervidda, europes largest plateau, a region of nordic extremes.
Even Amundsen had found here the perfect conditions to train for his expedition to the south pole. In August the plateau is traversable by foot, at temperatures between 0 and 20 degrees most of the snow is gone, revealing the incredible landscape.
The challenges of hiking in Hardangervidda shift to carrying almost 10 kilograms of food additionally to the basic equipment and covering high distances at sometimes strong, chilling wind and horizontal spray rain.
The reward are days of clear, sunny weather with breathtaking landscapes and seemingly surreal plays of light while walking between glacier and fjord.

Either way: An intense nature experience, one never forgets.

  • On my first journey to Norway I deeply fell in love with Scandinavia. The extremes, endless plains of wild nature, rugged and challenging. Majestic landscapes that let you know: "You are very welcome here. But know what you are doing, we won't be kind."

    Moritz Scouting tour 2016

Trekking tour in Hardangervidda

divider-ornamental

Details

With this tour we particularly want to address those people, who want to do the ‘next step’ from trekking to expedition. Our experienced team plannes the tour together with you (equipment, route, meals,…) and includes you into navigating with maps, compass and GPS.

We will hike on well maintained trails along the eastern border of Hardangervidda, its most mountainous part. Rarely, we will leave the national park of Hardangervidda, every couple of days we pass cabins. On day seven we reach Finse, a small, picturesque village at the foot of the glacier which- due to a lack of roads- can only be reached by train. Thereafter we leave Hardangervidda and for the last three days continue through the neighbouring Aurlandsdalen, a much greener and vital region with at least as much water.

Due to the remoteness and lack of access to eligible supplies, we will carry the food for 9 days ourselves.
We will sleep in tents.

Day Program
1 Arrival in Voss. Preparation and gear check.
2 Travel to Kinsarvik. Start of the hike.
3-7 Hike through Hardangervidda. Arrival in Finse.
8-9 Continuation of the hike through Aurlandsdalen.
10 Arrival in Vassbygdi.
11 Return to Voss. Final dinner. Travel back home.

The price for 10 days of adventure

divider-ornamental

1585€ *

Date 2019

  • 2. August – 12. August

Application deadline: 21.4.2019

*If you book for two people you will get a 5% discount; for three people, it’s even 10%!

Included into the price:

    • Accomodation
    • Meals during the 9 day hike
    • Guides
    • Safety equipment and measurements
    • local transport

Not included: Journey to and from the meeting point, health insurance, travel cancellation insurance, Food for arrival and departure days, alcohol, Visa (not necessary for EU and swiss citicens)

Prerequisites

      • Physical fitness: 25km with a full backpack (Men: 70+ litres, Women: 60-65 litres is no problem)
      • safe walking in difficult terrain
      • team spirit
      • willingness to step outside the comfort zone
      • experience with travelling and adapting yourself to other countries
      • excitement for adventure and new challenges

Application is open!

Further questions?

How do I get to the starting point of the expedition?

Getting there and back you’ve got to organize by yourself. You can decide on your own which airline you take or if you rather come by train, if you want to arrive earlier or stay longer. If you have any questions, don’t hesitate to ask. You can also plan your trip together with other team members. We recommend to arrive a bit earlier, to get our bodies accustomed to the climate and get rid of the jet lag.

How do I book?

When application is open, you’ll find a button “Apply now!” on our homepage. This leads you to a questionnaire that you need to fill out as an assessment to test yourself and for us to get a first impression. There are no wrong answers! The questionnaire is no reason for dismissal! Afterwards you will speak to a FernWind team member to determine whether the tour suits you. Everything else will communicated in person.

Where do we sleep?

On the day of arrival, we will stay at a hostel. The remaining nights we will sleep in tents, while we have the chance to switch to a cabin up to three times.

Which equipment do I need for Norway?

Equipment for the group (navigation gear, satellite phone, emergency medication) is provided by us. You need a big backpack (approx. 60-70 litres), sleeping bag, sleeping pad, drybags, good hiking boots and appropriate, weatherproof clothing. If you have a light tent and cooking gear, you are welcome to bring it. After your application you will recieve a more detailled packing list.

What will we eat?

On the first and the last day of the tour we will eat in restaurants, during the hike we will cook for ourselves. Therefore, the team creates a menu that consists of well transportable (preserved and much energy at low weight) food. One menu will contain meat and there will be a vegetarian offer as well. We will try to respect further diets as far as possible. The final preparation and distribution of the meals will be done together with you on the day of arrival.

Can I quit the tour in case I get ill or have an accident?

Our expedition leaders have profound training and experience with first aid. Smaller injuries and illnesses can be treated locally. If quitting the tour becomes unavoidable, we can request local rescue forces via satellite phone.

How safe am I at the norway tour?

The trails in Hardangervidda are well maintained and very safe. Risks could (according to the weather) emerge at crossing snow fields which is why safe walking in difficult terrain is an important prerequisite. In order to avoid hypothermia, the second risk, our experienced guides will do an extended material check with you and brief you about the right behaviour along the tour.

Further questions about the norway tour?

Then just contact Moritz, out tour guide: moritz@fernwind.de

How do I pay?

We kindly ask you to transfer the costs on the FernWind bank account within five days after the confirmation of participation. You will be informed about the conditions of cancellation in detail after your application.

Not your adventure? These are the alternatives:

Armenia

Horse riding at the verge of europe

Kamtschatka

Bears and volcanos

Husky tours

on a dog sledge through russia

Borneo

Nature experience without compromises

Strecke: 200km

Länge: 10 Tage

Team: 12 Leute

Land des Wassers

Norwegen Tour 2019

divider-ornamental-banner

9- tägige Trekkingtour

divider-ornamental

in der Hardangervidda, der größten Hochebene Europas

Norwegen Tour

divider-ornamental

Next step to expedition

Auf unserer 9-tägigen Norwegen Tour begeben wir uns in die Hardangervidda, die größte Hochebene Europas, ein Gebiet nördlicher Extreme.
Bereits Amundsen hatte hier im Winter die richtigen Bedingungen vorgefunden um für seine Südpolexpedition zu trainieren. Im August ist die Ebene auch zu Fuß passierbar, bei Temperaturen von 0 bis 20 Grad hat der Schnee die größten Teile der unglaublichen Landschaft wieder enthüllt.
Die Herausforderungen verlagern sich auf das Tragen von knapp 10 Kilogramm Verpflegung zusätzlich zum Basisequipment und das Zurücklegen großer Distanzen bei teils starkem, eisigem Wind und waagrechtem Sprühregen.
Entlohnt werden wir bei klarem Wetter mit atemberaubenden Landschaften und surreal anmutenden Lichtspielen beim Entlangwandern zwischen Gletscher und Fjord.

So oder so: Ein intensives Naturerlebnis, das man nie wieder vergisst!

  • Auf meiner ersten Norwegen- Reise habe ich mich Hals über Kopf in Skandinavien verliebt. Die Extreme, unendliche Weiten wilder Natur. Und dieses schroffe, herausfordernde. Majestätische Landschaften, die vermitteln: "Du bist hier herzlich willkommen. Aber wisse was du tust, denn wir nehmen keine Rücksicht auf dich."

    Moritz Scouting tour 2016

Trekkingtour in der Hardangervidda

divider-ornamental

Das erwartet Dich

Mit dieser Tour wollen wir insbesondere jene ansprechen, die den Schritt von der Trekkingtour zur Expedition wagen wollen. Unser erfahrenes Team plant mit euch gemeinsam die Tour (Equipment, Route, Verpflegung,…) und navigiert gemeinsam mit euch mittels Karte, Kompass und GPS.

Die Wanderung führt auf gut ausgebauten Wegen am Ostrand der Hardangervidda, deren gebirgigstem Teil, entlang. Nur selten verlassen wir dabei den dortigen Nationalpark, alle paar Tage kreuzen wir Hütten. Am siebten Tag erreichen wir Finse, ein kleines malerisches Dorf am Fuße des Gletsches, das mangels Straßen nur per Zug erreichbar ist. Danach verlassen wir das Gebiet der Hardangervidda, die Tour führt für die letzten drei Tage durch das angrenzende Aurlandsdalen, ein viel grüneres und lebendigeres Gebiet mit mindestens so viel Wasser.

Aufgrund der Abgeschiedenheit und beschränktem Zugang zu geeigneter Verpflegung werden wir das Essen für 9 Tage selbst tragen.
Schlafen werden wir in Zelten.

Tag Programm
1 Ankunft in Voss. Vorbereitung und Ausrüstungscheck
2 Fahrt nach Kinsarvik. Beginn der Wanderung
3-7 Wanderung durch die Hardangervidda. Ankunft in Finse.
8-9 Fortsetzung der Wanderung ins Aurlandsdalen.
10 Ankunft in Vassbygdi.
11 Rückkehr nach Voss. Abschlussessen. Anschließende Heimreise.

Der Preis für 10 Tage Abenteuer

divider-ornamental

1585€ *

Termin 2019

  • 2. August – 12. August

Anmeldeschluss: 21.4.2019

* Es gibt 5% Rabatt bei Anmeldung zu zweit, 10% Rabatt bei Anmeldung zu dritt!

Das ist im Preis inbegriffen:

  • Unterkunft
  • Verpflegung während der 9-tägigen Tour
  • Guides
  • Sicherheitsausrüstung und -vorkehrungen
  • Transportkosten vor Ort

Nicht inbegriffen: Flüge sowie An- und Abreise zum und vom Treffpunkt, Krankenversicherung, Reiserücktrittsversicherung, Verpflegung An- und Abreisetag, Alkohol, Visa (nicht notwendig für EU-BürgerInnen und SchweizerInnen)

Voraussetzungen für die Teilnahme

  • körperliche Fitness und Ausdauer: 25km mit vollem Rucksack (Männer: 70+ Liter, Frauen: 60-65 Liter sind kein Problem)
  • Trittsicherheit
  • Stressresistenz
  • Erfahrung mit Alleinreisen und Zurechtfinden in fremden Ländern
  • Teamfähigkeit
  • Bereitschaft, auf Komfort zu verzichten
  • Lust auf Abenteuer und neue Herausforderungen

Die Anmeldung ist offen!

Noch Fragen?

Wie komme ich zum Startpunkt der Expedition?

An- und Abreise musst du dir selbst organisieren. Dann kannst du selbst entscheiden, welche Fluglinie du nimmst und ob du früher kommen oder länger bleiben möchtest. Wir geben dir aber gerne Tipps und du kannst deine Reise mit anderen Gruppenmitgliedern abstimmen. Außerdem empfehlen wir, etwas früher anzureisen, damit sich der Körper an das Klima gewöhnen und der Jetlag abklingen kann.

Wie bewerbe ich mich?

Wenn die Bewerbung offen ist, findest du auf der Expeditionsseite einen Button mit der Aufschrift “Jetzt bewerben!”. Dieser führt dich zu einem Fragebogen, der dafür da ist, um dich besser kennen zu lernen und einen ersten Eindruck zu gewinnen. Dabei gibt es keine falschen Antworten! Der Fragebogen ist kein Abweisungsgrund. In weiterer Folge führst du ein Gespräch mit jemandem aus dem Expeditionsteam, um zu kären, ob die Tour das richtige für dich ist. Alles weitere wird persönlich geklärt.

Wo schlafen wir in Norwegen?

Am Anreisetag schlafen wir in einem Hostel. Die weiteren Nächte werden wir in Zelten verbringen, wobei wir bis zu drei mal die Möglichkeit haben, in eine Hütte auszuweichen.

Welche Ausrüstung brauche ich für Norwegen?

Das Equipment für die Gruppe (Navigationsequipment, Satellitentelefon, Notfallmedikamente) bringen wir mit. Du brauchst einen großen Rucksack (ca. 60-70 Liter), Schlafsack, Isomatte, Drybags, gute Wanderschuhe und angemessene, wetterfeste Bekleidung. Falls du ein leichtes Zelt und Kochequipment hast, kannst du das ebenfalls gerne mitnehmen. Nach der Bewerbung bekommst du eine detaillierte Packliste von uns.

Was gibt es auf der Norwegen- Tour zu Essen?

Am ersten und letzten Tag der Tour essen wir in Restaurants, während der Wanderung kochen wir selbst. Hierzu erstellen wir einen Speiseplan, der aus gut transportierbaren Lebensmitteln besteht (haltbar und möglichst viel Energie auf wenig Gewicht), dabei wird es eine Variante mit Fleischgerichten sowie eine vegetarische Variante geben. Auf weitere Ernährungsgewohnheiten versuchen wir, im Rahmen unserer Möglichkeiten, einzugehen. Die genaue Aufteilung und Vorbereitung der Mahlzeiten führen wir gemeinsam mit euch am Ankunftstag durch.

Kann ich die Norwegen- Tour abbrechen, wenn ich krank werde oder einen Unfall habe?

Unsere Expeditionsleiter haben profunde Ausbildungen und Erfahrungen in Erste Hilfe. Kleinere Verletzungen und Krankheiten werden von uns direkt vor Ort versorgt. Sollte ein Abbruch der Tour unvermeidbar sein, können wir lokale Rettungseinheiten per Satellitentelefon anfordern.

Wie sicher bin ich auf der Norwegen- Tour?

Die Wege in der Hardangervidda sind gut ausgebaut und grundsätzlich sehr sicher. Risikopotentiale bestehen (je nach Witterung) beim Überqueren von Schneefeldern, darum ist Trittsicherheit eine wichtige Voraussetzung. Um Unterkühlung, das zweite Risikopotential, auszuschließen, führen unsere erfahrenen Guides mit euch einen ausführlichen Materialcheck sowie ein Briefing zum richtigen Verhalten während der Tour durch.

Weitere Fragen zur Norwegen- Tour?

Dann kontaktiere einfach Moritz, unseren Tourguide: moritz@fernwind.de

Wie bezahle ich die Norwegen- Tour?

Die angegebene Summe muss innerhalb von fünf Tagen nach der Zusage für die Teilnahme auf unser Konto überwiesen werden. Die Stornobedingungen lassen wir dir nach deiner Bewerbung im Detail zukommen.

Nicht dein Abenteuer? Das sind deine Alternativen:

Husky Touren

mit Hundeschlitten durch Russland

Borneo

Naturerlebnis ohne Kompromisse

Armenien

Reiten am Rande Europas

Kamtschatka

Bären und Vulkane

Strecke: 200km

Länge: 10 Tage

Team: 12 Leute