A unique experience

Dog sledge tour in Russia

divider-ornamental-banner

Limit experience

divider-ornamental

in the Russian winter

Husky Tour

divider-ornamental

Why go out into the cold with dogs?

Russia in winter is no typical travel destination. We take you with us on an extraordinary journey: With 48 huskies we drive 150 kilometres up the icebound Volga River, through forests and snow-covered fields. In a two-days training you learn to take care of the huskies and the equipment. You team up with another team member and together you are responsible for a certain group of dogs. You help each other and grow together as a team. At the end of the day you will be saying self-confidently, that throughout the tour you became a musher (leader of a dog sledge).

  • I was part of one of the first husky tours through Russia. The area, the dogs, sledging were really amazing experiences, but what makes FernWind special is the team itself. Really cool people who definitely love what they do and totally enjoy the adventure themselves. Altogether 13 of 10 stars, I’d join again!

    Tim Husky expedition 2017
  • Driving through the ice desert of Russia with the dogs was just breathtaking and intense. You grow together with them, become a team and a small family. Dennis and Kosta have led our group excellently - thank you for this priceless experience!

    Selin Husky expedition 2018
  • A totally authentic group, an inspiring journey beyond any beaten tracks and one of the best experiences of my life! Pure adventure!

    Marie Husky expedition 2017
  • The husky expedition was a genius experience! It’s fantastic, growing as a team with the dogs and, at the end of the day, not only to know their names but also their individual characters. A great (human) group, a sovereign expedition leader (thanks Dennis!) and beautiful weather have made this time together a perfect memory.

    Sophia Husky expedition 2018
  • I had transferred my money to strangers, traveled to Russia with strangers and started the husky tour with strangers… and it was the best experience of my life! Whoever is looking for an authentic experience with maaany challenges and doesn’t favour package holidays is totally at the right address here! I can only recommend you to join; it will have a positive impact on you for the rest of your life! Auuuuuuuuuuuuu

    Sophia Husky expedition 2017
  • The husky tour with FernWind was definitely one of my most beautiful travels. An adventure, an experience. I will never ever forget how it feels like leading a dog sledge with eight huskies over the frozen Volga. I have learned a lot on this trip, about huskies, Russia, humans, authenticity, courage, and about myself.

    Yvonne Husky expedition 2017
  • Great team, amazing travel destinations! If I had the time, I would certainly join each and every tour of FernWind!

    Marcel Husky Expedition 2017
  • I got into close contact with local people and the other team members, but also towards the animals I have established a close friendship. Great thanks to the team leader, Konstantin, for his exquisite job and commitment.

    Dennis Husky expedition 2017
  • I have joined the husky tour and it was the coolest experience ever. We’ve been greatly cared for; teaming up with the dogs has challenged us each day! During the tour I’ve made new friends beyond national borders.

    Niklas Husky expedition 2018
  • I had the pleasure to join the first ever husky expedition in Russia. It was one of the most authentic experiences I could ever imagine. Trips with the guys from Fernwind are a once in a lifetime experience, and I can just recommend it to everyone who loves the outdoors!

    Jan Philipp Husky Expedition 2017

Husky Tour in Russia

divider-ornamental

This is awaiting you

After arriving at the airport or the train station of Samara we pick you up and take you to Toljatti, where we get to know each other and build up as a team. On the first day, we start training at the husky farm and besides theory, we’ll be having our first sledge ride. The second day of training is about getting deeper into theoretical content as well as practice. This is the preparation for our actual tour.

Early morning the sledge tour begins. A 40-kilometer distance is waiting for us and the dogs. After reaching our place to sleep, we look after the dogs first, then ourselves. The second stage is a bit shorter and offers great spots for photo shootings in breath-taking landscapes. By the end of the third stage, we reach an old monastery. The men will be sleeping here while the women spend the night in a traditional house in the village. The last part leads us through two remote settlements. At the end, dogs and mushers are brought back to the farm, where we celebrate our successful tour. Farewell on the seventh day.

Day Activities
 1  Arrival in Samara, transfer to Toljatti
2-3  Theoretical and practical training at the husky farm
4  Stage 1: 42 km
5  Etappe 2: 38 km, Fotoshooting
6  Stage 2: 38 km, photo shooting
7  Stage 4: 40 km, transfer back to farm, last evening
8  Departure, transfer to Samara

Our price for 8 days of adventure

divider-ornamental

2200€

If you book for two people you will get a 5% discount; for three people, it’s even 10%!

Date 2019

  • 26th of February to 5th of March 2019

This is included in the price:

  • accommodation for 7 days
  • catering
  • transfer from Samara (train station or airport) to the husky farm
  • 2 days training to become a musher
  • 4 days of dog sledge tour
  • introduction to the history of dog sledging
  • special gear and polar clothing, including gloves and winter boots
  • world known expedition photographer
  • photo shooting with huskies

Not included: visa, transport to Samara (We can help with getting the visa and trip planning!)

Requirements fo participation:

  • no dog hair allergy
  • no fear of dogs
  • basic physical fitness (standing for hours shouldn’t be a problem for you)
  • team spirit
  • willingness to forgo comfort
  • experience with travelling and adapting yourself to other countries
  • excitement for adventure and new challenges
  • optional: some skills in the Russian language or experience with dog sledging, medicine, photography and filming, travel journalism, etc.

Too late? Don’t worry, 2020 is coming!

Our team

Questions?

How do I get to the starting point of the expedition?

Getting there and back you’ve got to organize by yourself. You can decide on your own which airline you take or if you rather come by train, if you want to arrive earlier or stay longer. If you have any questions, don’t hesitate to ask. You can also plan your trip together with other team members.

What will we eat?

We will buy food in our location. Together we will prepare typical Russian dishes. Apart from that, you should bring snacks like nuts, chocolate, cereal bars and maybe even some fruit with you.

What sort of equipment do I need for dog sledging?

In the Russian winter, staying warm is the most important thing of all: underwear for skiing, thick socks and gloves is a must. You will receive polar clothing from us after arrival: handmade down trousers and jacket that are adequate for cold temperatures, winter boots and thick gloves.

Where will we sleep on the husky tour?

We will spend the nights in traditional oven-heated Russian huts. You need to bring your own sleeping bag as well as a sleeping mat.

How do I book?

When application is open, you’ll find a button “Apply now!” on our homepage. This leads you to a questionnaire that you need to fill out as an assessment to test yourself and for us to get a first impression. There are no wrong answers! The questionnaire is no reason for dismissal! Afterwards you will speak to a FernWind team member to determine whether the tour suits you. Everything else will communicated in person.

How do I pay?

We kindly ask you to transfer half of the costs on the FernWind bank account within five days after the confirmation of participation. The rest of the payment is due two weeks before the journey starts.
You will be informed about the conditions of cancellation in detail after your application.

Can I quit the expedition in case I get ill or if I have an accident?

Smaller injuries and light sickness will be treated by us. If quitting the expedition is unavoidable, you will be evacuated to the expedition base or to hospital. For the case of accidents, a snowmobiles will take you to the next road quickly where an ambulance will be waiting for you.

How save am I at the husky tour?

Smaller injuries are the greatest risk: sprained ankles, blisters, grazes etc. These can be easily treated with our medical equipment and skills. Stronger injuries will be treated by a medically trained person that is with us all the time.
Besides, there is the option to be taken to hospital by snowmobile or by car.

Not your adventure? These are our other destinations:

Armenia

horse riding at the verge of Europe

Kamchatka

bears and volcanos

Norway

Trekking tour in europes largest plateau

Borneo

nature experience without compromises

Ein einzigartiges Erlebnis

Hundeschlitten Tour in Russland

divider-ornamental-banner

Grenzerfahrung

divider-ornamental

im russischen Winter

Husky Touren

divider-ornamental

Warum mit Hunden in die Kälte?

Russland im Winter ist kein typisches Reiseziel. Wir nehmen dich mit auf eine besondere Reise: Mit 48 Huskys fahren wir 150 km über die gefrorene Wolga, durch Wälder und über verschneite Felder. In einer zweitägigen Ausbildung lernst du den Umgang mit den Huskys und der Ausrüstung. Dann bekommst du gemeinsam mit einem anderen Teammitglied Hunde für die ihr verantwortlich seid. Ihr helft euch gegenseitig und wachst mit den Hunden zu einem Gespann zusammen. Am Ende kannst du ganz selbstbewusst sagen, dass du während der Husky Tour ein Musher (Hundeschlittenführer) geworden bist.

  • Die Husky-Tour mit Fernwind war definitiv eine meiner schönsten Reisen. Ein Abenteuer, ein Erlebnis, eine Erfahrung. Wie es sich anfühlt, einen Hundeschlitten mit acht Huskies über die gefrorene Wolga zu lenken werde ich nie vergessen. Ich habe auf dieser Reise viel gelernt, über Huskies, Russland, Menschen, Authentizität, Mut, und mich selbst.

    Yvonne Husky Expedition 2017
  • I had the pleasure to join the first ever husky expedition in Russia. It was one of the most authentic experiences I could ever imagine. Trips with the guys from Fernwind are a once in a lifetime experience, and I can just recommend it to everyone who loves the outdoors!

    Jan Philipp Husky Expedition 2017
  • Ich schloss eine enge Beziehung mit den Menschen vor Ort und den Teilnehmern, doch auch mit den Tieren wurde eine enge Freundschaft aufgebaut. Ich bedanke mich an dieser Stelle beim Teamführer Konstantin für seine hervorragende Arbeit und sein Engagement.

    Dennis Husky Expedition 2017
  • Ich war auf einer der ersten Huskytouren durch Russland dabei. Die Gegend, die Hunde, das Schlittenfahren waren schon richtig geile Erlebnisse, aber was Fernwind besonders macht ist vor allem das Team selbst. Richtig coole Leute, bei denen man merkt, dass sie Spaß an der Sache haben und bei allen Abenteuern selbst begeistert dabei sind. Insgesamt solide 13/10 Punkten, würd wieder mit!

    Tim Husky Expedition 2017
  • The biggest adventure! ... An dieser Stelle ein herzliches Dankeschön an die fantastische Organisation und die unbeschreiblich tolle Gruppe 👍

    Franziska Husky Expedition 2017
  • Ich war bei der Husky-Tour dabei und es war einfach eines der geilsten Erlebnisse bisher. Es wurde sich super um uns gekümmert und die Zusammenarbeit mit den Hunden hat einen immer wieder vor neue Herausforderungen gestellt! Wärend der Tour habe ich auch neue Freundschaften geschlossen, die über Ländergrenzen hinaus gehen.

    Niklas Husky Expedition 2018
  • Super Team, krasse Reiseziele! Wenn ich die Zeit hätte, wäre ich bei jeder Tour von FernWind dabei!

    Marcel Husky Expedition 2017
  • Eine total authentische Gruppe, eine inspirierende Reise abseits jeglicher Touristenpfade und eine der besten Erfahrungen meines Lebens! Abenteuer pur!

    Marie Husky Expedition 2017
  • Ich habe mein Geld damals an fremde Leute überwiesen, bin mit fremden Leuten nach Russland gereist und habe dort die Huskytour mit fremden Menschen gestartet ... und es war die beste Erfahrung meines Lebens! Wer ein authentisches Abenteuer mit vieeeln Herausforderungen sucht und komplett gegen Pauschalreisen ist, ist hier genau richtig! Kann ich nur weiterempfehlen und du wirst positiv für dein Leben geprägt Aauuuuuuuuu

    Sofia Husky Expedition 2017
  • Die Huskyexpedition war ein geniales Erlebnis! Es ist toll, mit den Hunden zu einem Team zusammenzuwachsen und am Schluss nicht nur ihre Namen, sondern auch ihre Charaktere zu kennen. Eine super (Menschen)-Gruppe, ein souveräner Expeditionsleiter (danke Dennis!) und schönes Wetter haben die gemeinsame Zeit perfekt gemacht.

    Sophia Husky Expedition 2018

Der Preis für 8 Tage Abenteuer

divider-ornamental

2200€

Bei Anmeldung zu zweit 5% Rabatt. Zu dritt sind es sogar 10%!

Termine 2019

  • 24. Januar – 31. Januar 2019 (auf Englisch)
  • 26. Februar – 05. März 2019

Das ist im Preis inbegriffen:

  • Unterkunft (7 Nächte)
  • Verpflegung
  • Transfer von Samara (Bahnhof oder Flughafen) zur Huskyfarm
  • 2 Tage Ausbildung zum Musher (Hundeschlittenführung)
  • 4 Tage Hundeschlittentour
  • Einführung in die Geschichte der Hundeschlittenführung
  • Spezialausrüstung und Polarkleidung inklusive Handschuhe und Winterstiefel
  • Weltbekannter Expeditionsfotograf
  • Photoshooting mit Husky

Nicht inbegriffen: Visum, Reise nach Samara (Wir helfen gerne bei Visabeschaffung und Reiseplanung!)

Voraussetzungen für die Teilnahme

  • keine Hundehaarallergie
  • keine Angst vor Hunden
  • körperliche Grundfitness (langes Stehen sollte kein Problem sein)
  • Teamfähigkeit
  • Bereitschaft, auf Komfort zu verzichten
  • Erfahrung mit Reisen und Zurechtfinden in fremden Ländern
  • Lust auf Abenteuer und neue Herausforderungen
  • optional: Russischkenntnisse oder Ausbildung bzw. Erfahrung in Hundeschlittenführung, Medizin, Fotografie/Filmen, Reisejournalismus o.ä.

Die Anmeldung ist offen!
We are taking applications!

Husky Touren in Russland

divider-ornamental

Das erwartet dich

Nach deiner Ankunft am Flughafen oder Bahnhof Samara wirst du von uns abgeholt und nach Toljatti gebracht. Dort steht Kennenlernen der TeilnehmerInnen und Teambuilding auf den Programm. Am ersten Tag beginnt das Training auf der Huskyfarm und neben Theorie ist auch eine erste Schlittenfahrt geplant. Der zweite Ausbildungstag vertieft die Inhalte und bringt mehr Praxistraining mit einer weiteren Fahrt. Alles wird für die eigentliche Tour vorbereitet.

Früh am Morgen starten unsere Tour wir mit den Schlitten. Über 40 Kilometer erwarten die Hundegespanne und uns. Ist das Nachtlager erreicht, werden zuerst die Hunde versorgt, dann die Menschen. Die zweite Etappe ist etwas kürzer und bietet sich für ein Fotoshooting mit atemberaubende Landschaften an. Am Ende der dritten Etappe erreichen wir ein altes Kloster, in dem die Männer übernachten während die Frauen im traditionellen Dorfhaus schlafen. Der letzte Abschnitt führt durch zwei abgelegene Siedlungen. Im Anschluss werden Hunde und Musher zurück zur Farm gebracht, wo die erfolgreiche Tour gefeiert wird. Am siebten Tag heißt es Abschied nehmen.

Tag Programm
 1  Ankunft in Samara, Transfer nach Toljatti
2-3  Training auf der Huskyfarm und theoretische Ausbildung
4  Etappe 1: 42 km
5  Etappe 2: 38 km, Fotoshooting
6  Etappe 3: 31 km zu einem Kloster
7  Etappe 4: 40 km, Rücktransport, Abschlussabend
8  Abreise, Transfer nach Samara

Noch Fragen?

Wie komme ich zum Startpunkt der Expedition?

An- und Abreise musst du dir selbst organisieren. Dann kannst du selbst entscheiden, welche Fluglinie du nimmst oder ob du mit dem Zug fährst bzw. ob du früher kommen oder länger bleiben möchtest. Wir geben dir aber gerne Tipps und du kannst deine Reise mit anderen Gruppenmitgliedern abstimmen.

Was gibt es zu essen?

Die Verpflegung während der Expedition wird vor Ort eingekauft. Dabei kommen russische Gerichte auf den Teller, das gemeinsam gekocht werden. Zusätzlich solltest du Snacks wie Nüsse, Schokolade, Müsliriegel und vielleicht auch etwas Obst selbst mitbringen.

Welche Ausrüstung brauche ich zum Hundeschlittenfahren?

Im russischen Winter ist Warmbleiben das oberste Gebot: Skiunterwäsche, dicke Socken und Handschuhe sind ein Muss. Polarkleidung bekommst du vor Ort gestellt: Daunenhose und -jacke, die speziell für die kalten Temperaturen handgemacht sind sowie Winterstiefel und dicke Handschuhe.

Wo schlafen wir auf der Huskytour?

Wir übernachten unterwegs in traditionellen russischen Hütten, die mit einem Ofen beheizt sind. Schlafsack und bei Bedarf eine Schlafmatte müssen selbst mitgebracht werden.

Wie melde ich mich an?

Wenn die Anmeldung offen ist, findest du auf der Internetseite einen Button mit der Aufschrift „Jetzt bewerben!“. Dieser führt dich zu einem Fragebogen, der dafür da ist, dich besser kennen zu lernen und eine Ersteinschätzung zu machen. Dabei gibt es keine falschen Antworten! Der Fragebogen ist kein Abweisungsgrund. In weiterer Folge führst du ein Gespräch mit jemandem aus dem FernWind-Team, um zu kären, ob die Tour das richtige für dich ist. Alles weitere wird persönlich gekärt.

Wie bezahle ich?

Die Hälfte der Kosten muss innerhalb von fünf Tagen nach der Zusage für die Teilnahme auf unser Konto überwiesen werden. Der Rest ist zwei Wochen vor dem Start fällig.

Die Stornobedingungen lassen wir dir nach deiner Bewerbung im Detail zukommen.

Kann ich die Expedition abbrechen, wenn ich krank werde oder einen Unfall habe?

Bei kleineren Verletzungen und leichten Krankheiten wirst du von uns vor Ort behandelt. Sollte ein Abbruch der Expedition unvermeidbar sein, wirst du in die Expeditionsbasis oder ins Krankenhaus evakuiert. Bei Unfällen haben wir Schneemobile, die dich schnell zur nächsten Straße bringen können, wo ein Krankenwagen warten wird.

Wie sicher bin ich auf der Husky Tour?

Am größten ist die Gefahr von kleinen Verletzungen: verstauchte Knöchel, Blasen, Schürfwunden etc. Diese können mit der mitgebrachten medizinischen Ausrüstung ohne Probleme behandelt werden. Gröbere Verletzungen versogt eine medizinisch ausgebildete Person, die dabei sein wird.

Zusätzlich gibt es die Möglichkeit, mit Motorschlitten und Autos in ein Krankenhaus gebracht zu werden.

Nicht dein Abenteuer? Das sind deine Alternativen:

Borneo

Naturerlebnis ohne Kompromisse

Armenien

Reiten am Rande Europas

Kamtschatka

Bären und Vulkane